2020 to 1920 | Welcome!

Welcome to the home of Project Summer 1920!

I am starting this project in the depths of winter, in the early days of 2020, with the hope that this project blossoms into a fun way for me to learn about the past and conduct a study of living history into what life was like in the summer 100 years ago. Some of the topics I hope to learn more about are costuming, music and dance, women’s suffrage, and average home life and summer activities of 1920.

I will be exploring these topics through material culture studies, including making a simple summer wardrobe for a working class woman in New England, from undergarments to outerwear. I will be learning about current events from the summer of 1920 specifically in Massachusetts as well as in the greater world.

The garments I will be creating will be standard for a working-class woman in 1920. At present I have limited knowledge of this year so I will be diving into archives, catalogs, and the void of Pinterest to learn the specific styles of post-WWI.

Wish me well and follow along for lots of fun and some learning along the way!

Published by Lily Bell

Hello! I'm Lily Bell, a textile historian and artist, living in coastal New England, USA. I study material culture and am new to the world of historical costuming. Follow along for my adventures in time traveling to the summer of 1920!

Leave a comment

awefaring

Traveling by awe. New England and further afield.

Atelier Nostalgia

My adventures in historical sewing, with a touch of traditional costume and vintage clothing

Brijee

Vintage Sewing meets Modern Living

The Sartorial Sleuth

Research, Re-creation, and Conservation of Historic Dress

The Atavist Magazine

Fashion History of Summer 1920 in 2020

Longreads

Longreads : The best longform stories on the web

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started